Monday, 9 May 2016

A new dawn, a new day, a new project.

So...this month I am planning to try two new things: free piecing a la quiltdivajulie  and applique as expounded in Lara's new book.

Just a quick note on the applique for now:  I am one of the people participating in Lara's world record blog hop, for which this is the schedule:


Crafted Appliqué: New Possibilities Blog Hop - May 1st to June 5th

Sunday, May 1 - Introduce the Hop and post the schedule on BuzzinBumble
Monday, May 2 - Valerie Smith - Pumpkin Patch Quilter
Tuesday, May 3 - Dana Gaffney - Stormy Days
Wednesday, May 4 - Lorna McMahon - Sew Fresh Quilts 
Thursday, May 5 - Mary S. - Needled Mom
Friday, May 6 - Heidi Kuntz - Red Letter Quilts
Saturday, May 7 - Alycia Carmin - Alycia Quilts
Sunday, May 8 - Amy DeCesare - Amy Made That
Monday, May 9 - Sherri McConnell - A Quilting Life
Tuesday, May 10 - Lara Buccella - Sew Mama Sew 
Wednesday, May 11 - Christina Cameli - A Few Scraps
Thursday, May 12 - Melissa Corry -  Happy Quilting
Friday, May 13 - Sarah Craig - Confessions of a Fabric Addict
Saturday, May 14 - Soma Acharya - Whims and Fancies 
Sunday, May 15 - Val Reynolds -  Val's Quilting Studio
Monday, May 16 - Angela Pingel - Cut to Pieces
Tuesday, May 17 - Sandra Walker - Musings of a Menopausal Melon
Wednesday, May 18 - Cheryl Brickey - Meadow Mist Designs
Thursday, May 19 - Judy Murphy - Quilt Paradigm
Friday, May 20 - Yvonne Fuchs - Quilting Jetgirl
Saturday, May 21 - Cindy Pieters - Stitchin' at Home
Sunday, May 22 - Susie Zlogar - Susie's Sunroom
Monday, May 23 - Connie Kresin-Campbell - Freemotion by the River
Tuesday, May 24 - Ruth Bourke - Charly & Ben's Crafty Corner
Wednesday, May 25 - Kaja Ziesler - Sew Slowly
Thursday, May 26 - Ann Brooks - Fret Not Yourself
Friday, May 27 - Cynthia Brunz - Quilting is More Fun Than Housework
Saturday, May 28 - Monday, May 30 ... Memorial Day Weekend in the U.S.
Tuesday, May 31 - Jenn Trott-Zisserson - Quarter Inch From the Edge
Wednesday, June 1 - Paulette Horn - The Way I Sew It
Thursday, June 2 - Sandra Jansen - Studio Sew of Course
Friday, June 3 - Christine Sherman - Triangles and Squares
Saturday, June 4 - Darlene Simmons - Quilt Shop Gal
Sunday, June 5 - Announce BuzzinBumble Giveaway Winners - Lara Buccella

There's a chance to win the Crafted Applique book every day, and there have been so cool posts so far, so if you haven't already, do go and check out the other participants.  

As you can see, I have until May 25th to play with this technique so in the meantime I am making a start, I hope, on something free pieced.  Nothing to show yet, though, except my first pull o f possible fabrics, which looks like this:


Onwards and upwards!

10 comments:

  1. I'm excited that you are going to give free piecing a whirl -- can't wait to see what you create!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like your first pull of possibilities! A great blend of colours, prints and solids! I am intrigued to see what you will be making for Lara's blog hop.

    -Soma

    ReplyDelete
  3. The fabric pulls look very enticing.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Exciting news - look forward to what you come up with from those lovely fabrics. I am going to be working on a barn this month, just gathering fabrics - from my stash I hasten to add.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh, I am loving this tour and excited to see what you create!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Kaja, whatever you do with both Julie's free piecing and my Crafted applique, one thing I know for sure - It's going to be both fun and inspiring to watch you work it out! I'm going to try to Build Barn too, as soon as things settle down a little. Loved Julie's book!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Okay, now I'm going to have to check out free piecing - not sure what that is but it sounds very intriguing! Lara really does have quite a line up for her book release; I've seen a lot of fun projects and look forward to yours! Thanks for linking to MCM! :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Looking forward to both of these projects. I really like your fabric pull. The applique blog hop has been so much fun so far, and I'm sure you'll have something wonderful to share!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I like the way you grouped these fabrics. And I note you have included reds! Looking forward to this.

    ReplyDelete
  10. That's some blog hop! Great colours you've chosen there :)

    ReplyDelete

Feel free to comment away! I read everything and welcome all feedback. I seem to be getting a lot of comments from no-reply bloggers at the moment - if you don't get a response, that will be why.